What can vegetarians eat? What can't vegetarians eat?
Knowing what to eat as a vegetarian isn’t as simple as meat or no meat. Though becoming a veggie is probably not as tricky as going vegan, it might surprise you to learn that many foods contain animal by-product, which are best to avoid if you want to stick to your new regime. It’s always worth checking certain food items including sweets, alcohol, sugar and cheese for animal by-product ingredients like gelatin, isinglass and rennet. Luckily, most items are usually clearly marked if they’re vegetarian friendly, but it’s always worth a second glance before throwing it in your shopping basket.
Easy Vegetarian Meals
So you’ve decided to become a vegetarian, but don’t know what you’re going to do without bacon on a Saturday morning, or what’s going to fill that steak-shaped hole on your plate. Surprisingly, some of the best vegetarian recipes are the ones you already know, meaning you might not actually have to adapt your taste buds all that much.
Breakfast – Avocado on toast, porridge, vegetarian sausages, boiled eggs – there’re plenty of filling breakfasts for vegetarians, both high in protein and full on flavour.